View Full Version: BL releases and chronological/reading order

The Great Crusade > Pre-Heresy Background Q&A > BL releases and chronological/reading order

Title: BL releases and chronological/reading order

eFTy - September 5, 2012 11:36 PM (GMT)
So. Long time, no post. I've just started catching up on the Horus Heresy (a slump in income had em take a break in buying after Prospero Burns). I've read Age of Darkness and borrowed Promethean Sun from a friend and read that too.

Now, I also got another friend interested in reading the series, but as you can imagine it's a bit daunting (21 books, plus audios and the limited edition stuff).

So, I have two questions. First, because said mate is a BA fan - How many books need be read before Signus Prime? I think it's just the first two (Horus Rising/False Gods). Any others?

Second - has anyone managed to make a list of all the HH stuff ordered 'chronologically'? Including audios and everything else. I really hate stumbling into spoilers, even if I do relatively know the main story from the old IA and artbook fluff, I'd rather not blunder into this.

Help will be much appreciated. :)

BigWill - September 6, 2012 01:18 AM (GMT)
No list yet,the chrono-list is being worked on.
As for Must reads The first 3,Fulgrim,First Heretic (istivan V),the Angel book for the bare bare minimum
Probally Age of Darkness too which takes place at the same time,gives him a feel for the other legions at same time.

But there are tons of fantastic books not in that list the whole series is a must read to me
Legion,Mechanicum,Know no Fear,Thousand Sons,Prospero Falls

BigWill - September 6, 2012 01:26 AM (GMT)
How could I have forgot Battle for the Abyss

Ilmarinen - September 6, 2012 02:13 AM (GMT)
QUOTE (BigWill @ Sep 6 2012, 01:26 AM)
How could I have forgot Battle for the Abyss

You're a sick sick man! :P

Like BigWill said, there's not a strict chronological order - stories occur at various points in the timeline.

If your mate is a massive BA fan, he could jump in with Fear to Tread (it is awesome!) but he'll miss some of the buildup of certain Legions becoming aware of chaos, etc.

I'd recommend the initial books (in addition to the first 3, Flight of the Eisenstein is great and Legion is interesting). Battle for the Abyss and the DA books are not as good, Nemesis is a bit different (not focussed on the Legions), as is Outcast Dead.

First Heretic is amazing, Thousand Sons is great, Prospero Burns is also great (but not the story you initially expect), the audiobooks are great, Deliverance Lost is brilliant (I may be a little biased!) and Know No Fear is OUTSTANDING!

So, you'd better get reading! :lol:

BigWill - September 6, 2012 10:35 AM (GMT)
There is an order of sorts but it is complicated alot of books happen at the same time or cross reference the other books.
They call it Holographic storytelling which is cool as hell basically while planning and writing the two authors share thier story for the other to incorporate pieces of it in the others work,sometimes line for line.
But usually told from the others perspective.
IMO it helps keep continutity.
Not always a Horus Heresy thing in ADB's Emperor's Gift a Major character from another authors novel makes an apperance and when he does.......oh man one of the greatest BL moments ever

eFTy - September 9, 2012 02:15 AM (GMT)
Hey guys, thanks for the replies!

I think I was a bit misunderstood though. I know the overall story of the Heresy and I've read everything up to (but not including) The Outcast Dead (which I will proceed with after I finish Wrath of Iron).

I was asking which/how many of the HH books -should- be read before touching Fear to Tread. I'm guessing Horus Rising and Galaxy in Flames are pretty required (to see Horus turn), but I'm not sure if any others should too. Doesn't the fight on Signus Prime begin -before- Isstvan III?

ShroudFilm - September 9, 2012 09:53 AM (GMT)
Jim has actually done something very clever in 'Fear to Tread' - he has the Blood Angels engaged in a military action at the Kayvas Belt, alongside the Alpha Legion, immediately after the events that occurred on Murder in 'Horus Rising'.

If you recall, Horus was requested by Alpharius, but instead Sanguinius answered the summons. That was the last we heard from him directly.

Then in 'False Gods' and 'Galaxy in Flames' it is mentioned that Horus sends Sanguinius off to the Signus Cluster so he won't be able to intervene in the coming war. That's all we knew until now.

FTT shows both of those engagements (and many more besides) plus it also goes into great detail about the motivations and methods of all parties involved, including the Word Bearers and other very influential Chaos powers.

The Alpha Legion keep the Blood Angels on deployment for more than a year, doing nothing at all. They then declare that the action is concluded, and that's it. :blink:

Horus then sends Sanguinius off to Signus, at the recommendation of Erebus and the Word Bearers... for another reason... :ph43r:

So the Blood Angels leave for Signus sometime around the end of FG, after Horus has turned but before Isstvan III. If you have read 'Know No Fear' and 'Age of Darkness', you will understand WHEN it is that he returns to the galaxy at large, after the war at Signus... ;)

eFTy - September 9, 2012 01:24 PM (GMT)
Ah, comprehensive. I like it.

So, other than Horus Rising and False Gods, one should add Legion, First Heretic, Age of Darkness and Know No Fear to the list required before Fear to Tread?

ShroudFilm - September 9, 2012 02:56 PM (GMT)
No, no need to read 'Legion' (as long as you know that Alpharius wages war by disinformation) or 'The First Heretic' (since the other novels more than deal with Erebus's involvement in Horus's plans).

AOD and KNF are only necessary if you want to understand the chronology of the end of FTT, and at this stage it's still REALLY vague...

Wolf Lord Mjolnir - September 16, 2012 08:11 PM (GMT)
I'm pretty sure this has been answered already with 'wait and see' but what does te colour band on the spine of the Horus Heresy books signify?

ShroudFilm - September 18, 2012 07:08 AM (GMT)
That was my first question on my first day! :D

It's a fairly haphazard system, but it's something like:

RED = opening trilogy
ANOTHER = book deals with a primarch
DIFFERENT = deals with a Legion
COLOUR = an event
YELLOW = Age of Darkness story

But apparently it's hella open to interpretation, and eagle-eyed fans reckon there's been TWO mistakes already.

Ilmarinen - September 18, 2012 09:45 AM (GMT)
So, Alpha Legion misinformation then?! :lol:

Hosted for free by zIFBoards