Title: 4 rune priest
Description: good or bad
army310 - May 1, 2010 12:36 PM (GMT)
like in the title 4 rune priest in an army of 1500 is that dumb or the best thing in the world?
Feytor - May 1, 2010 12:50 PM (GMT)
Actually you can go with 2 priests only. You have only 2 HQ slots in FOC.
army310 - May 1, 2010 01:00 PM (GMT)
the space wolves special rule The Leaders of the Pack
[QUOTE]In a Space Wolves army, each HQ 'slot' allows you to take up two HQ choices. this means that in a standard mission a Space Wolves army may take one, two, three or even four HQ choices.[QUOTE]
Fixed tags. Vredesbyrd
Vredesbyrd - May 1, 2010 01:03 PM (GMT)
It could be fun to play with but I don't think it'd be the most tactically sound army. Rune Priests run the risk of killing themselves, and potentially doing bugger all.
I'd take one or two in a bigger game, but four is too much in 1,500 for me.
Feytor - May 1, 2010 01:24 PM (GMT)
Forgive me, Im not familliar with space wulf codex. :unsure: . Priest and wolf lord is IMHO most reasonable option for a big game. Priest for killing big 'nids and blocking lashes and other annoying psychic powers.
Vredesbyrd - May 1, 2010 01:27 PM (GMT)
Space Wolves don't get Psychic Hoods on the Rune Priest Feytor. ;) They're similar to Librarians but not too similar - they weren't banned at Nicaea for a start.
Most units in the Space Wolf army are able to take some form of psychic defence, making resiting powers like Lash of Submission much easier for them. Rune Priests are there for damage and mobile cover saves really.
EDIT: My mistake, almost all characters can take Wolf Tail Talismans, as can all Dreadnoughts and Iron Priests, but not units. I thought they could for some reason. Also, Ulrik the Slayer doesn't have a Wolf Tail Talisman. Why? The Great Wolf does, so why wouldn't the Slayer? Bizarre.
army310 - May 1, 2010 02:24 PM (GMT)
k how does this sound?
wolf tail tailsman
Wolf Guard Battle Leader
Saga of thr warrior Born
Wolf Tail Tailsman
for 380 points
and can i cast storm caller in a Rhino? and would it be dumb to get runic armour? i hate wasting to many points on HQ.
Vredesbyrd - May 1, 2010 03:07 PM (GMT)
I'd whack one in Runic, or give them both Wolf Tails. As far as I can work out from the rules you can give them both the same gear so long as they don't have the same combination of gear, Saga and powers.
As for casting Stormcaller etc, check the FAQ, found here.